Police Shift Fourth District Boundaries

Compare old boundaries with new ones in the 4th District, which includes Wheaton, Glenmont and Kemp Mill.

Montgomery County’s police began operating under new, realigned district boundaries starting Monday. 

According to a Montgomery County Police Department statement, the changes will improve service to residents, giving districts a more balanced work load.

The 4th District now includes a section between Muncaster Mill Road and Norbeck Road that formerly belonged in the 1st District. A triangle-shaped area south of Veirs Mill Road and north of the Garrett Park area has also moved from the 1st District to the 4th District.

On the southeastern end of the 4th District, where the boundary once stopped at University Boulevard, the line now extends into the neighborhood behind Northwood High School.

Elsewhere in the county, 2nd District police now cover most of Potomac, while the 1st District continues to focus on Rockville and areas closer to the new district station at the Public Safety Headquarters.

In early 2013, police joined the 1st District station with the larger Montgomery County Police Department headquarters in Gaithersburg. The move stationed the 1st District headquarters about six miles northwest of its previous location, on Seven Locks Road in Rockville, to fall within MCPD 6th District boundaries.

In addition to the 1st District Station, the $108.5 million Public Safety Headquarters project brought Montgomery County Police Headquarters, Montgomery County Fire and Rescue Services, the office of Homeland Security and parts of the transportation department under one 408,000-square-foot roof.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »